Types of Hymns in the Orthodox Church

                                 According to Byzantine tradition

1) The First Antiphon = "Through the Intercessions"

2) The Second Antiphon = "Save Us, O Son of God"

3) The Hymn of Justinian = "Only Begotten Son"

4) Apolytikion/Troparion = Resurrectional hymn of the day, hymn dedicated to a specific church, or a hymn dedicated to a specific saint/Feast Day of the Church

5) Kontakion = 'Seasonal' hymn of a Feast

5) Trisagion = The Thrice-Holy Hymn

6) Megalynarion = Magnificat Hymn